Bogomil Ǵuzel (English biography)

Bogomil Gjuzel (born 1939) is a Macedonian poet, writer, playwright and translator.

Born in 1939 in Čačak, Serbia, Gjuzel was the son of the Bulgarian[1] revolutionary and philosopher Dimitar Gyuzelov[2]. He graduated from the Department of English at theUniversity of Skopje (Macedonia), in 1963, and spent an academic year at the University of Edinburgh as a British Council scholar, 1964/65.

Gjuzel was a dramaturge with the Dramski Theater in Skopje for two terms, 1966-1971 and 1985-1998. He participated in the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa in 1972-1973, and in the poetry festivals in Rotterdam (1978 & 1996), San Francisco (1980), Herleen (1991), Maastricht and Valencia (2000). He was one of the ten founders of the Independent Writers of Macedonia association and its first chairman in 1994, and since 1995 editor-in-chief of its bi-monthly journal Naše Pismo. Since 1999 he has been an acting director of the Struga Poetry Evenings.

Gjuzel was the first editor of Shine Poetry.

Lech Miodinsky wrote and published a Ph.D. dissertation on his poetry: Bogomil Guzel, Poeticky dialogz natura i kultura, Katowice 1994, in Polish, translated and published in Macedonian in 1999.


  • Mead (1962 & 1971)
  • Alchemical Rose (1963)
  • Libation Bearers (1966), awarded with the Brothers Miladinov Prize for the best book of the year
  • Odysseus in Hell (a selection, 1969)
  • A Well in Time (1972), Brothers Miladinov Award
  • The Wheel of the Year (1977)
  • Reality is All (1980)
  • State of Siege (1981)
  • Empty Space (1982)
  • Darkness and Milk (1986), and in Serbo-Croatian in 1987 awarded the Aleksa Šantic Yugoslav Award for 1985-88
  • Destroying the Wall (1989)
  • Selected Poems (1991)
  • Naked Life (1994)
  • Chaos (1998)
  • She/It (a long poem, 2000)
  • Selected Poetry (1962-2002) (2002).
  • Selections in Serbo-Croatian: Sky, Earth and Sun (1963), Mead (1972), bilingual Poems (1981).
  • Selection in Slovenian: The Fish of Sense (1985).
  • Selections in English: Three (1972), The Wreckage Reconsidered (Chattanooga Chapbooks, Tennessee, 1997), The Wolf at the Door (Xenos Books, California, USA, 2001). Included in all the anthologies of Macedonian and Yugoslav poetry since 1963.


  • History as Stepmother (essays, 1969)
  • The Whole World is a House (travelogues from Ireland and USA, 1975)
  • Mytho-Stories (three plays, 1982)
  • Legends (stories, 1984)
  • A Bundle (essays – in preparation). With Ljubiša Geiorgievski
  • Black (a tragic farce, 1989).


  • Shakespeare’s Macbeth (1969)
  • King Lear (1972)
  • Hamlet (1980)
  • Julius Caesar (1981)
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1984)
  • Twelfth Night (1985)
  • Troilus and Cressida (1992)
  • The Tempest (1992)
  • Titus Andronicus (1994).
  • Bond’s Saved
  • O’Neil’s Long Day’s Journey Into Night
  • Sheppard’s Buried Child
  • Pinter’s Lover
  • Selected poetry by: T. S. Eliot, W. H. Auden, Charles Simic (1984)
  • Emily Dickinson (1986)
  • Seamus Heaney (2001)
  • Contemporary American Poetry, 1978 (translator and co-editor), with second and revised edition in 1999.


Non c'è ancora nessun commento.


Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo di

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Connessione a %s...


Amici che passano

Inserisci la tua mail per seguire questo blog

Unisciti a 519 altri iscritti


  • 160.772 visitatori



Questo sito non rappresenta una testata giornalistica, in quanto viene aggiornato senza nessuna periodicità. Pertanto, non può considerarsi un prodotto editoriale ai sensi della Legge n. 62 del 7.03.2001.
%d blogger hanno fatto clic su Mi Piace per questo: